The New America: A Collection

THE NEW AMERICA BY CG FEWSTONThe New America:Collection, CG FEWSTON’s first collection of short fiction which includes a three-act play was published in 2007, was first published under the pen-name “Brighten Cambridge” in honor of his late cousin of the same name (Brighton Cambridge).

CG FEWSTON’s cousin (born Clinton Ball) wanted to be an actor and so he changed his name to “Brighton Cambridge,” but sadly Clint/Brighton lost his battle in 2001 with cystic fibrosis at the age of 25. Cystic fibrosis (CF) is a genetic disorder that affects mostly the lungs.

The New America: A Collection was named a Finalist in the National Indie Excellence 2008 Awards. The stories are set in Texas and South Korea and deal with identity, culture and coming of age issues.

When we are young children we believe everything will last and remain. It is only when we grow to adults that we come to realize our fault in not understanding that things change and fade with the passing of time.

“The New America” is a place that has already been discovered by humankind, but its vastness cannot be measured; the exploration of the novel domain can, however, reveal a newer, truer thing than before, or what has already been abandoned by another.

The strange New America is within us all and with each thought (old and new, foreign and domestic) a greater force it becomes, uniting all of humankind into one glorious unity of similarity and peace.

In the end the New America will either be our great and terrible Wasteland, or our final return to Paradise.


~ Contact ~

For media, press, & publicity inquiries or for speaking engagement requests & inquiries: cgfewston [at] gmail [dot] com

Family 2018
CG (Papa), Thor, Axton (2018)

CG FEWSTON has been a Visiting Scholar at the American Academy in Rome (Italy), and a Visiting Fellow at Hong Kong’s CityU. He has a B.A. in English, an M.Ed. in Higher Education Leadership (honors), an M.A. in Literature (honors), and an M.F.A. in Creative Writing & Fiction. He was born in Texas in 1979.

He’s the author of several short stories and novels. His works include A Fathers Son (2005), The New America: A Collection (2007), Vanity of Vanities (2011), A Time to Love in Tehran (2015), and forthcoming: Conquergood & the Center of the Intelligible Mystery of Being; Little Hometown, America: A Look Back; A Time to Forget in East Berlin; and, The Endless Endeavor of Excellence.

Share the knowledge: